Mi., 27. Apr.

|

a five-week course via zoom

Moving Through Love

A five-week course to support our practice in body and mind, to live in the world with openness, even - or especially - in difficult times.

Moving Through Love

Time & Location

27. Apr., 18:30 – 25. Mai, 20:30

a five-week course via zoom

Itinerary

The Brahma Viharas describe ways of being in the world, based on the cultivation of openheartedness – metta (loving-kindness), karuna (compassion), mudita (sympathetic joy or empathy), and upekkha (equanimity). They are also known as the Immeasurables, or sometimes even the Abodes of the Gods...

Perhaps the poetic titles for these attitudes or meditation practices make them sound like they are almost beyond the reach of us as human beings. But Pema Chödrön describes ‘equanimity’, the fourth Brahma Vihara, in a different way, saying:

“Training in equanimity is learning to open the door to all, welcoming all beings, inviting life to come visit. Of course, as certain guests arrive, we’ll feel fear and aversion. Cultivating equanimity is a work in progress. We aspire to spend our lives training in the loving-kindness and courage that it takes to receive whatever appears – sickness, health, poverty, wealth, sorrow, and joy. We welcome and get to know them all. We could call it being completely alive.”

(The Places That Scare You, 70, 72)

Taking equanimity as a starting point, we will start right here, where we are now, being alive in our bodies. Over five weeks, we will study, meditate, share and listen to each other. We’ll also use exercises from improvisation to help us experience the essence of these teachings directly, finding out how these high aspirations can be something that effectively supports us in difficult times, in everyday life.

Urgyen Sangharakshita evokes this beautifully in terms of the mind and body:

“It’s on account of equanimity, in its ultimate sense, that you’re balanced - even with regard to Samsara and Nirvana, even those two extremes don’t disturb you. Subject and Object are, the same - or not different, so far as you’re concerned. You are in a state of absolute equanimity. … absolutely stable and unshakable, immovable, though at the same time you’re extremely mobile, even dancing all over the place. You don’t need to have your centre fixed in any particular spot. Your centre is everywhere.”

(Sutta Nipata seminar 1976)

Let us dance together then! And discover our unshakable stable nature within that dance….

These workshops are offered by Dharma Toolkit/ Buddhist Centre Online. Please follow this link to read more and to book.

Every Wednesday for 5 weeks, 27th April - 25th May

Every session, 2 hours: USA PST: 10:30 | Mexico: 12:30 | USA EST: 13:30 | IE & UK 18.30 | Europe CET 19.30 | India 23.00 | Australia AEDT 03.30 (next day) | New Zealand NZDT 05.30 (next day)

Suggested donation for the series: $115 / £85 / €100

Reserve a space

Donate & support!

Share This Event